Library: Acquisitions and News, December 2016

Have a great Winter Break!  — Cathy

DIGITAL COMMONS (added 12/12/16)
I’d like to add your scholarship to our platform Digital Commons @ IC.   The platform will highlight your work & make it discoverable in Google.  If you are interested in this opportunity, send me an email of your publications to: cmichael@ithaca.edu

FY 16-17  June to December ACQUISITIONS
Attached is a list of titles ordered and received from 6/1/12 to present.

NEW ACQUISITIONS FY  June -Dec 2016 (click to open in Google Docs)

These are titles that have been ordered on the following funds: culture & communication, video funds, journalism, legal studies, IMC, CMD & TVR.  Some funds are posted as ebooks if an ebook is selected.

Please be sure to check the catalog for location and status (to see if it is not checked out).  New Books might be on the new books shelf as you enter the library, in the stacks, checked out, or at the binders.

New book titles (in general) can be browsed on the CATALOG tab of the  library’s homepage; you can also browse new films under the FILM tab.   I’ve been collecting films on the Oscar Shortlist.

ORDER RECOMMENDATIONS
Recommend a book or video purchase by emailing me.    I can create a list of titles on a particular subject for you.   Remember that our collection development policy stipulates that we do not purchase core texts assigned for classes.  Also, many more books are available in digital format; let me know if you prefer an e-book format. If you’ve published a book or chapter I would be interested in purchasing it for our collection.  Funds are about 60% spent; my goal is 75 % by February.

DATABASE UPDATES
After analyzing cost-per-use data, the library will likely cancel the Film Scripts Online database.  Additionally, we will move Polling the Nations from 4 users to 1 user (corrected from reading 2 users 12/13/16).  If you have concerns, let me know.

JOURNAL UPDATE  (added 12/12/16)  
SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal has increased steeply for 2017: 156.5% price increase over last year.   This print title will, consequently, be cancelled.

LIBRARY INSTRUCTION / RESEARCH CONSULTATIONS
Thanks for referring students to me for Research Consultations and inviting me to your classes.   I’m already booking classes for Spring 2017.  Let me know if you’d like a library research guide designed for your class or event.

LIBRARY HOURS
You can check to see when the library is open over break by using our calendar.

